1 Comment

My decision is made!

In case you have forgotten, I have been thinking about whether to change Tacita into third person, or keep it as first person. It has been an agonising decision, to be honest, but I think that it has finally been made. What helped me to do this is getting a random chapter of Tacita and changing it into third person, comparing it to the first person version and seeing which one I preferred. And I preferred the third person version. So yes, this means that I will be changing Tacita into third person.

And wow, it’s going to be difficult. What I’m going to do is go through the whole thing once and change it all, from ‘I’ to ‘she’ and so on, but not change any of the actual writing (except where it doesn’t make sense in third person). This way, I can get this painfully boring and difficult part out of the way first, and read Tacita as it currently is. Once I’ve gone through the entire thing and changed it to third person, I will focus on making the writing brilliant, and doing all the other changes that I have planned to do. Writing it down, it kind of seems like a pointless process– why can’t I just change it to third person and do the other things in the same read-through?– but it makes a lot more sense in my head. I’d probably get pretty confused if I did it any other way.

So, I’d better start now, because time is ticking and I don’t want to still be on the first read-through by the time school starts (which is in about a month). Wish me luck!

Your slightly apprehensive blogger, Jaz

One comment on “My decision is made!

  1. The right decision (in my HUMBLE opinion) and you’re going about it the logical, sensible way. Well done and good luck !

And Your Thoughts...?