2 Comments

The Floralia…?

Today is the Roman festival of the Floralia to honour the goddess Flora. But why am I telling you this? It’s not like it has anything to do with Tacita…

OK. It does. I don’t even know why I wanted to post this, but I thought I might let you know that something VERY important happens on this festival in Tacita. I’ll leave you to make your own deductions on what that is. And just to say: no one knows what happens except me!

So while I’m here I think I’ll do an update on Tacita. I’ve got 147 pages so far (this is double-spaced A4 pages in size 11 font, so I don’t know how much it would equal in book-size pages), and 46,267 words. Is that a lot? It seems like a lot of words to fit into one Word document, but I’m guessing it’s pretty short for a novel. If it isn’t, then that’s a bit annoying, because I still have a bit to write yet. And by a bit, I mean quite a lot.

How long is Tacita going to be? I think it will be a moderate-sized novel. Not too long, like War and Peace for instance. But I don’t want it to be a really short book that looks like it’s for kids. I’m trying to think of a book as an example… but I can’t think of one! I don’t know how many pages it will be, because I don’t have any sort of target, but I’d like it to be over 200 (again, double-spaced A4) pages. Is that a lot to ask? I don’t think so actually, because I did write a story when I was younger that WAS over 200 pages, but this was normal-spaced A4 (it did have pictures, but they probably didn’t take up too much space compared to the writing) and it was in size 20 font. I’d like your opinions on this, because Tacita is supposed to be a teenage novel obviously for people my age (not an adult novel as I am of course not an adult), so it can’t be too crazily long or short.

So that was my little update on Tacita. I think I will get back to writing!

Your floral blogger, Jaz

2 comments on “The Floralia…?

  1. Ooops. Just committed a cardinal sin. Posted the comment before proofreading it twice. The ‘teen’ part of teenagers shouldn’t have three ‘e’s.

  2. Very good to have an update, Jaz, and to learn what your thinking is for the completed novel. (I’ve given it four stars, as I quite often do for your very good posts, but I hate giving five stars as AWESOME is such a very over-used expression !).

    I haven’t read any books specifically aimed at teeenagers for years; well, probably since I was a teenager, but serious adult novels tend to have between 40,000 and 200,000 words, so you may have a way to go yet. Pick up any novel on your parents’ bookshelves and count words per line, lines per page and pages per book. It doesn’t have to be a perfect word count and, of course, the font size and line spacing can vary enormously depending on the publishing house and target audience, but you may have about 12 w/l, 25 l/p and 200 p/b, equating to 60,000.

    Keeeeeeep writing !

And Your Thoughts...?

