Leave a comment

Happy 2013!

Hello and Happy New Year! 2012 was a crazy year, with lots of deaths, breakthroughs and new technology. 2013 is going to have lots of different stuff happening, most notably CATCHING FIRE!!! Mostly due to the success of The Hunger Games, Roman names for babies are expected to be more popular. I mean, that’s quite cool (the Romans are awesome, after all) but can you really imagine calling your kid Flavius, Claudius or Seneca? That would be very weird. But I wonder what 2013 will have in store for the world? Maybe something super unexpected (and hopefully good) will happen? I can’t predict anything at the moment, but it’s a new year and that means, for a lot of people, New Year’s resolutions. Do you make them? I never have– I’ve always thought they were a bit pointless– but I thought that this year I might try, and see how long I can keep it. Mine is to eat more fruit/veg (and sadly less chocolate) and do more exercise, like go running more often. I predict that I will totally forget about them in a couple of months.

Yesterday I watched Gladiator and I had a thought: what would happen if the whole gladiator thing was around NOW? What if someone tried to revive it? Do you think people would be interested in watching people fight to the death, or would they find it too un-PC and barbaric? I guess we have a new idea of panem et circenses now, and it doesn’t involve bread or circuses. Some slightly crazy people might enjoy watching gladiators. But maybe EVERYONE will enjoy watching them. We’re not too much different from the Romans, really. I mean, lots of people like watching horror movies, and getting into fights, and playing violent video games, and gladiator fights are just one step up from that. (This has absolutely nothing to do with 2013, it’s not like gladiators will be revived in 2013!) And my opinion? As much as I love gladiators and everything gladiator-y, it wouldn’t be a good idea nowadays. Too many people dying! But I guess if people want to do it, then they can go ahead, but I won’t be involved.

I hope your 2013 is a good year!

Your new blogger, Jaz

And Your Thoughts...?

