1 Comment

Murder x_______x

If you’re in touch with the UK charts you may have noticed that, as far as I know, Florence + the Machine’s ‘Spectrum’ is at number 1. You may think that I’d be overjoyed by this, but I’m not. I first heard that it was number 1 and I wondered how on earth those pop-music-loving people liked that song. I LOVE that song, but I definitely have more alternative music tastes. I can’t really imagine that the average listener would find the meaning in the song (no offence, but it’s just my opinion). They’d probably be like ‘it sounds nice’ or something. But obviously that’s not the only thing that makes a song good. One reason Florence + the Machine are the most amazing band on the planet is because her songs actually have meaning if you listen and analyse the lyrics. Every time I hear one of her songs, I try to find a meaning or a story in the words and music and it makes listening to it so much better.

Well I’ve sort of gone off in a different direction here. So back to the story. After I heard that, the song played. The first thing I noticed was that they’d cut off about 15 seconds of the beginning. That beginning bit was just some strings doing a little dramatic long-held note thing with a bit of a crescendo, so maybe the radio people thought that their listeners would not thank them for having a looooooooooong note for 15 seconds. But it, in my opinion, sets the scene for the song, much like a prologue to a book. But no, they chopped it off and started immediately with her singing and some random drum beat in the background, which completely ruins the song there and then. There’s the same long-held strings, but with some little banging on a drum to make it fit in with the pop music tastes. They need to get it into their heads that Florence + the Machine is NOT mainstream pop. On my phone, the genre is ‘Alternative’. The radio people can’t remix an alternative song with pop intentions. It just doesn’t work. It’s like having, I dunno, Mozart’s 5th symphony (if he wrote one of them) mixed with Sexy and I Know it. IT JUST DOESN’T WORK. IT JUST DOESN’T WORK. IT JUST DOESN’T WORK! From that dreadful beginning, it went on to really play up on the drums, which are minimal in the original version, and turned it into some cheap, trashy pop/drum and bass. It totally defiled, defaced, ruined, trashed– whatever you want to call it– that amazing song.

But the thing that really annoyed me was the radio presenter calling it ‘Florence + the Machine’s Spectrum (Say My Name)’. First, that is NOT the name of the song. There is no brackets thing in the original. And secondly, that is NOT the song. He should have at least said it was the CHART version, to distinguish from the album (proper) version. I’d like to see the radio play the original, uncut, unmixed song to see how many of the general population like it.

So what I’m saying is that again, the media has ruined something that was once great. It’s murder! A massacre! Sacrilege!

Btw, I probably sound ignorant and rude writing this, but it was really annoying, and tbh, I probably am ignorant and rude.

Your annoyed blogger, Jaz

One comment on “Murder x_______x

  1. Are you sure that it was the radio station (which one?) that messed with your favourite song? Could it not be that the record publisher actually mixed the single version differently from the album version? Certainly the title CAN be different on the two versions (whether you like it or not – haha).

And Your Thoughts...?

