2 Comments

That’s Funny!

Hi, quick post today. Yesterday my dad showed me this quiz on BBC news about money, and it mentioned groats, florins and all the other money-related stuff! I felt kinda special because I had heard of all of them but some other people may go ‘what’s a spur ryal?!’ but I know what it is! I can’t find the quiz now, but go onto BBC news and find it if you want to do it. I got 5/7. Can you beat me?!

Your groaty blogger, Jaz

2 comments on “That’s Funny!

  1. I’m not really old enough to remember groats, but certainly we used to use Pounds, shillings and pence (Lsd – from the Latin librae, solidi, denarii). Twelve pence to a shilling and 20 shillings to a Pound meant that you could divide a Pound into 240 parts, not just the 100 parts you have in the decimal system. And, if you also take into account halfpennies and farthings, that means that there were 960 farthings in a Pound. Strangely enough, although I like the decimal system, the duodecimal system (computed by twelves) is actually more flexible.

    And, although I’m not old enough to remember this either, I think that the Jacobean coin was more likely a spur royal, than a spur ryal. LOL

And Your Thoughts...?

