3 Comments

A Non-Sporty Person Running THREE Miles?!

Yep, it’s true. I, of all people, ran the Sport Relief Mile with Jada and my dad. I mean, ME! The least sporty person in existence! There is a story behind it, however.

At first I was going to do it with my friends Hafren and Rebecca but then Jada and my dad were booked for the run an hour earlier, so I decided I would do it with them, and sadly not Hafren and Rebecca. I didn’t really want to do it. I was thinking ‘THREE MILES? ARE YOU CRAZY?’ because I was remembering the horrible times of 1500m in school athletics, where the teacher was screaming at us to run (and I mean, SPRINT). That was in Year 7, and I was totally unfit and even more un-sporty. I didn’t want to relive that moment. But I thought ‘Hey, I can’t really back out now, can I?’ so reluctantly, I went along with it.

Finally the day of the three miles came (today!). I didn’t know how easy it would be, but I was expecting it to be a total struggle. I thought I’d be swimming in my ocean of sweat and gasping for breath, my water bottle slipping from my hand, my lips cracked and dry and my heart exploding. Actually, it wasn’t that bad. At first, I paced myself and jogged really slowly. I didn’t want to tire myself out too quickly, and I really thought I would have to walk for a long time. But actually, I found that if I walked, all my muscles would be all tight and achy and I just had to keep jogging. I was ‘on fire’ (as Jada said) and a ‘little Katniss’ (as my dad said), and I didn’t want to stop. Jada and my dad kept stopping to walk, and I was annoyed. I decided to run ahead, obivously after asking him if I could. It was really awesome, because I was going at my own pace! I ran around the circuit a couple of times and soon, I was almost done. The end was in sight!! I just ran and eventually finished in a time of 34 minutes! I was so happy with myself. Jada and my dad came after, with a time of 37 minutes.

Basically, it was MUCH better than I thought, and now I really want to do more of those runs, like the Race for Life or something.

Maybe I am becoming SPORTY?! What a disturbing idea.

Your *sporty* blogger, Jaz

3 comments on “A Non-Sporty Person Running THREE Miles?!

  1. Absolutely brilliant Jaz, and so was Jada !!

  2. Omg I feel exactly the same! (Exept that I amd in fact the most un-sporty person since blob the omeba) 🙂 well done! I got there in 38 minutes 🙂 yay 😉

And Your Thoughts...?

