4 Comments

Books I’ve Been Reading: The Marsh King’s Daughter

The Marsh King’s Daughter is a story about the rebellious Miriel Weaver, who is forced into a convent. She hates the boring life, and she wants a way to escape, and it comes in the form of a mysterious injured man called Nicholas de Caen. But they become enemies and leave each other. After some events occur, they meet again, and agree to tolerate each other. Then they become friends, and that escalates…

This book is a saga of awesome proportions. It is not just a story, it is a journey through peoples’ lives. The whole book goes across many years, and you really see the evolution of the characters. Miriel is a great heroine. The story is set in Medieval times, so people could think she could be a kind of damsel in distress, but she is independent and strong. But she doesn’t turn into a boring, one-sided character, she has a soft side that comes out at the right time.

This book is a teen book. I think it’s suitable for mature 13 year olds and up. There are some mature scenes, but they aren’t as mature as Gladiatrix.

Anyway, so the book is set in a very interesting time. It’s in the early 1200s, in the end of King John’s reign, which I find really cool. The main character, Miriel, isn’t any kind of noble rank or anything, she is the step-daughter of a wool merchant/trader. It’s a topic I believe hasn’t been explored very much so I learned a lot.

I would recommend this to anyone who likes historical fiction with some romance added in. It’s a story of people and their lives, and you get really sucked into the world. I give it… 10/10!

Your medieval blogger, Jaz

4 comments on “Books I’ve Been Reading: The Marsh King’s Daughter

  1. I love historical fiction and as you gave the book 10/10 I clicked the link to Amazon to read more about it. It sounds really good and so I’ve ordered myself a copy. Thanks for reviewing it!

And Your Thoughts...?

