2 Comments

Is a Kindle Worth it?

Since I read so much, I was wondering whether a Kindle would be worth it.

It would be good, because the books are so much cheaper to get, and you can take it anywhere and have hundreds of books, instead of taking loads with you, which take up a lot of space. It’s really quick to get books as well: according to Amazon, it takes less than 60 seconds. It’s received over 1000 5-star reviews, which is good. There are two versions: one of them is Β£89 and the other is Β£149. The more expensive one has a keyboard and uses free 3G, and the other one is smaller and, of course, has less. Well, less features, but some improvements, like the size. If I did get one, I have no idea which one is better. The main thing is probably the keyboard, and I don’t know how much you would use it.

But then again, it is expensive to get it in the first place, and you have to buy all the books too. Yes, there are free ones, but they are free because they are rubbish books. I like the feeling of a real book anyway, like a lot of people, and a Kindle is NOT a real book. I like turning the pages and hearing that nice sound that it makes. Also, I got this awesome bookmark for Christmas and I wouldn’t be able to use it!

Actually, I could use it because I still have at least, like, a hundred books on the shelves and I could DEFINITELY read them again (The Eagle of the Ninth Chronicles in particular). My bookmark has a built in dictionary and I could still use it to look up words I don’t know quickly. I got a lot of books for Christmas anyway so I’d have to read them, then get a Kindle and read new books.

But what if I don’t find any books I like?! I suppose there are a lot on my Amazon wishlist and I could just get the Kindle version, then I’d get loads of recommendations, and add more books, and blah blah blah.

So overall, I still have no idea whether it’s worth it. Argh! So I will leave you with these questions: do you have a Kindle? What do you think of it? Which one do you have? Do you use the keyboard? Is it worth it for me? My mum says it is.

Your Kindleish confused blogger, Jaz

2 comments on “Is a Kindle Worth it?

  1. Heyyaa πŸ™‚ okay, I borrowed a kindle from a library and it was actually not as bad as I thought it would be, because:
    1 it reads to you so when my light in my room broke I could listen to the book and not have to wait til morning to find out what happened
    2 the keyboard is for typing words into the dictionary & writing reviews of books you’ve read & searching for books which is helpfull
    3 it’s a bit like a book because you do turn pages but like you said the sound of the pages turning is helpful πŸ™‚
    4 it tells you what percentage of the book you’ve read which is motivating πŸ˜€
    And finally 5 they’re more economically (if you spell it like that) friendly so they don’t break the bank πŸ˜€
    So all in all, I say go for it πŸ™‚ they’re more practical for travel and are light and cheap :)<3

And Your Thoughts...?

